Collo Project Update

I had originally thought that the audition was going to be in March, however, two weeks ago new information was released, and I found out that the deadline was earlier than I thought it would be.  As a result, I had to speed up the process of working on my audition. There is a video audition, and if you make it to the next round there is an in person audition. There are two locations for in person auditions: New York, and Los Angeles. The deadline to be eligible for the New York audition was to send in your video audition by February 24. I found this out on the 16th, and I decided that I was going to practice hardcore, and film it by the 18th so I could send it in a week early.

I practiced my dance for a few days and I began filling out my online application before filming. However, in the process of doing the application I realized several things that I was missing. I needed a headshot, which I had a friend take on her nice camera the next day. I also found out that the audition could only be 1 minute long, and mine was about 1 minute and 30 sec. Instead of filming it on the 18th,  I ended up having to re-choreograph it to be 1 minute which was difficult because I was trying to showcase the best of my abilities in a short amount of time. I filmed it the next day, the 19th, and I sent it in along with my headshot and my application, which was still earlier than the deadline. If they liked my video, they could contact me to schedule an in person audition, of which the New York ones are March 2-4.

I kept practicing just in case they contacted me, to make sure that I had a good dance prepared to audition with in person. They did not contact me before the New York auditions. However, they made it clear that there was no guarantee that they would be able to review everyone’s videos in time. There is still a possibility that they could see my video later on and contact me to come to the Los Angeles auditions, of which the dates have not been decided yet. Getting contacted for LA auditions is a little less likely as it is more expensive to travel there, but I will keep practicing just in case. If they do not contact me at all, I did not make the cut. I am prepared for this possibility, and if I don’t hear anything back, I will spend time evaluating what I can do differently next time. The most important thing is that I do what I can to improve for future auditions.

Hours:

  • Feb 16- 1.5 hours
  • Feb 17- 1.5 hours
  • Feb 18- 2 hours
  • Feb 19- 2 hours
  • Feb 21- 1 hour
  • Feb 23- 1 hour
  • Feb 26- 1 hour
  • Feb 28- 1 hour

Sum- 11 hours

Previous hours- 15 and 1/2 hours

Total hours spent- 26 and 1/2 hours

 

Updates to come!

Leave a comment