Collo Project Update 4

So my project is coming to an end, and now that the dancing and filming of my audition is all said in done, it is time for me to evaluate things that I can improve for my audition next year. I just realized that I have yet to put the link for my audition video in any of my blog posts yet, so I am putting it down below for you to watch:

I have analyzed how I went about my audition and I have made a list of things to work on for next year:

  1. For the video audition, have better filmography: I need to have choreography that is interesting and exciting in front of the camera since I am auditioning for a tv show. Instead of having someone just film me straight on I need to have them follow me around, and get close enough to my face that the viewer can see the emotions I am trying to portray on my face.
  2. Find myself as a dancer and artist: this show is looking for dancers that are creative, unique, and genuinely themselves, and their dancing should set them apart because it represents them as a person. I have not completely found myself as an artist and I feel like with this specific routine I was trying too hard to look like other dancers I have watched. Looking like everyone else will get me nowhere. Over the next year I will push myself to experiment with my choreography and find my own unique voice.
  3. Train and Practice: Over the course of the next year I cannot let my technique slide. I am not dancing nearly as much as I was in high school and I can already see myself beginning to regress. I need to push and motivate myself to work on my technique and skills and improve my dancing on my own time so that I am not only dancing at the same level as I was last year, but even better. It can only help.
  4. Save up money: if I save up enough money by next year to afford a plane ticket and a few nights in a hotel, I may just go straight to the in-person auditions and take a risk instead of sending in the video audition first. It is easier to make a lasting impression in person than it is through a video.

Hours:

  • April 8- 1 hour
  • Sum- 1 hour

Previous Hours- 32 and 1/2 hours
Total Hours Spent- 33 and 1/2 hours

I am definitely glad I chose to do this as my project for this semester because it encouraged me to take risks, put myself out there, and start gaining experience for future professional auditions.

 

Leave a comment